New cable increase
New (to me) cable increase

I love cables!

When starting a cabled design, there’s always the issue of  ‘cable splay’ – cables pull knitted fabric together and any non-cabled fabric above or below will be wider than the cabled section; if this is not the desired result, stitch counts need to be adjusted. How much depends on the type of cable, how often it’s crossed, yarn and needles used, and other non-definable factors known only to the universe.

Based on other increases I’ve read about – the kind where you work your increases into the back purl bump of a stitch (Annie Maloney and Barbara Walker use these types of increases) – I thought it might be something to try with cables.

So, here’s my experiment:

These 2/2 cables started as K2 rib columns in the ribbing portion of this swatch (close up pic below).

To create the 2 over 2 Left Cross Cable (2/2 LC), when I reached the 2 st rib column:

  1. With the Right Needle (RN) tip, I reached behind the Knit sts on the Left Needle (LN) and picked up and knit 1 stitch in the purl bump 1 row below the first stitch on the LN,
  2. then I picked up and knit a second stitch in the purl bump 1 row below the second stitch on the LN,
  3. then K2 from the LN.

To create the 2 over 2 Right Cross Cable  (2/2 RC), when I reached the 2 st rib column:

  1. K2 from the LN
  2. With the LN tip, I reached behind the two sts just worked on the RN and picked up and knit 1 stitch in the purl bump 1 row below the second stitch on the RN,
  3. then I picked up and knit a second stitch in the purl bump 1 row below the first stitch on the RN.

Below are a close-up of the base of the 2/2LC cable and a close-up of the back of that same cable. I think I like it!

Close up of new (to me) cable increase
Close up of new (to me) cable increase
WS of swatch showing cable increase
WS of swatch showing cable increase
