Elann Order March 2013-2

My package from Elann.com has arrived! I see a grey and purple theme here!

Elann Order March 2013-4-Patons Classic DK SW
Patons Classic Wool DK Superwash

Patons Classic Wool DK Superwash

I wanted to give the Patons Classic DK superwash a real going over to see how it behaves (they only have 3 colours left as of this blog post so I’m glad I put my order in straight away!). In case the link won’t work once Elann is out of stock, here’s a link to the Patons website for the yarn.

I ordered the Light Grey Heather and I see those are all gone!  The yarn is machine washable and dryable according to the label so I want to make a gigantic cabled swatch and see how it comes out after repeated washings and dryings. Note to self: remember to take pics after each step!

Elann Lara

This colourway is called Antique Plum and is a lovely deep French lilac colour. This is a 100% combed mercerized cotton and I want to see if I can use it as a sub yarn for my Rana pattern.

Elann Peruvian Baby Silk

Elann Order March 2013-5-baby silk

This was my ‘spoil me’ choice. I think I have a perfect shawl pattern in mind for this yarn. It’s 80% baby alpaca / 20% silk – no odour to the yarn – yay! sometimes you don’t know with silk content. The Aubergine colour deep red with slight purple undertones – almost a burgundy. Very luscious and truly buttery soft. I’d love to try this in black for an evening stole.

