Time for some holiday fun! I thought I’d share my best-ever gingerbread cookie recipe with you. It’s been a family favourite for many, many years. The original that my recipe is based on was a recipe published in The Heritage Collection of Home Tested Recipes compiled by Chatelaine (1968). Poor sad booklet has the cover taped on now and you can tell which pages contain our favourites!

Enjoy!

Old Fashioned Gingerbread Cookies

1 cup butter
1/2 cup lard or shortening
2 cups white sugar
2 eggs, beaten
3/4 cup molasses
4 – 4 1/2 cups flour
4 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons ground ginger
2 teaspoons cinnamon
(optional: 1 teaspoon cloves — I’m not a fan so I always omit this)

1. Cream the butter, lard and sugar. Add eggs and beat well. Add molasses and beat well. (= creamed mixture)
2. Into a separate bowl, sift the flour together with the baking soda, salt, ginger and cinnamon (and cloves, if using). (= dry ingredients)
3. Gradually mix the dry ingredients into the creamed mixture until thoroughly combined. The mixture will be stiff. (I use the lowest speed on my stand mixer with the dough hooks.)
4. If dough is too soft to roll out, refrigerate for 1 – 2 hours. Roll dough 1/4″ thick and cut out with cookie cutters. [Alternatively, pinch off pieces of dough roll into approximately 1″ balls and on, cookie sheet, flatten to 1/4″ with tines of a fork.] Place on cookie sheet lined with parchment paper (or greased).

Bake at 325F for 10 – 12 minutes.

Gingerbread People attacking the oranges
