As promised: Manly Scarf #1
This is actually #32 on my list, but it yelled “pick me, pick me” so I did! Am I a push-over or what?

Stitch: Polperro Northcott
Source: The Harmony Guides 440 more Knitting Stitches Volume 3 (1998)

Abbreviations

k: knit
p: purl


The Stitch Pattern
Multiples of 4 stitches plus 2
Row 1 {RS}: knit
Row 2: knit
Row 3: knit
Row 4: k2, *p2, k2; repeat from * to end of row
Row 5: knit
Row 6 – 25: repeat Rows 4 and 5
Row 26: knit
Row 27: knit
Row 28: purl

Repeat these 28 rows as required.


Here’s a close-up picture of the pattern stitch.

To make a scarf:

Materials:

200 yards / 180m of worsted-weight yarn
6mm [US 10] needles

Width:
7″ [18cm] wide

Length:
For a comfortable fit, the scarf should be a minimum of about 48″ [1.2m] long; that size requires approximately 200 yards [180m] of yarn.

Directions

Cast on 30 sts.

Work in pattern stitch (above) until scarf is desired length, having completed a Row 28.

Note: Each pattern repeat measures about 4.5″ [11.5cm] vertically, so a total of 11 repeats will be needed for the minimum 48″ [1.2m] length.

Cast off after the last repeat is worked and weave in the ends.

A longer scarf would work well too, but would, of course, require more yarn.
You could add a fringe, but I’d ask first 😉

You could also knit each repeat in a different colour!

As you see, the brain just doesn’t stop!!!

If you make a scarf out of this, send me a picture — I’ll gladly post it for all to see.

