These adorable baby boots are knit from a wonderfully soft soy/acrylic blend from Bernat. This yarn is really nice to work with and it’s machine washable (and dryable…if you need to).

Available soon at Ravelry.com. They will fit 0-3 months or 3-6 months old. I will post a link here when the pattern is ready for sale.

It’s been an interesting journey. Knitting the sample boots and working out the pattern didn’t take that long…a few days. BUT, writing up the publishable (is that a real word?) pattern has been quite a time-consuming task – at least two weeks. It’s finally ready to try out with some test knitters.

Software Process
I started out using MSWord (by default) but started hearing more comments about the preference for booklet form patterns as opposed to the full-page format so I thought I’d give it a shot. The only publishing software currently on my computer is MSPublisher. The only real problems I ran into were some quirky things happening with the styles in the program — they kept reverting to their former selves after I modified them. I seem to have solved that problem but I’m not 100% sure I know how I did it! Ahhhhh MS!! How I yearn for Reveal Codes! I’ll have to investigate Open Office further.

Second Set of Eyes
Thanks to “The J” of Knits & Wovens for technical and graphic design editing. Your expertise is muchly appreciated!

