Wish List Travel Book: a small photo album works well – it’s small enough to put into my bag when I go shopping or travelling.

It contains a recipe card (or cardboard cut from cereal boxes, etc) for each project that’s on my “To Do” list (okay, confession: so I don’t have one card for each item in my Ravelry queue — that definitely wouldn’t fit into my bag!).

Each card contains:

  • project name
  • source (book with page number, magazine name and date and page number, Ravelry name, website, etc)
  • a small picture or sketch of the pattern
  • gauge
  • original yarn used (name, weight and yardage)
  • optional yarns if listed and
  • a checklist for
    • amount of yarn (both weight and yardage),
    • needles / hooks
    • notions and any special requirements.

As I obtain each item I need for that project, I check it off on the card. Once everything is completed, that card gets moved to the WIP (Work in Progress or Reality) Binder.

Sewists/quilters: Rather than carrying around pattern envelopes, this works really well for all of my sewing projects as well – just different headings on the card:

Each card contains:

  • Pattern type/quilt design
  • source (pattern #, book with page number, magazine name and date and page number, website, etc)
  • a small picture or sketch of the pattern / quilt design
  • recommended fabric(s)
  • a checklist for
    • fabric(s) yds/m required
    • thread
    • zipper length
    • buttons (size and #)
    • interfacing yds/m required
    • notions (elastic, hooks, velcro)
    • any special requirements.
